What happens when I pause an active automation?

To edit an already-enabled automation, you will first need to pause it by clicking on the Pause button.

Once you pause an active automation, no campaigns will be sent to contacts going through the automation or queued to start it. New contacts added to the connected list will be added to the automation itself. And once you re-enable the automation, the contacts added while it was paused will start going through its steps.

Subscribers who have already started the automation will continue going through the waiting step they're on, but no campaigns will be sent to them until the automation is activated again.

Example:

If the wait time between two campaigns was set to one day and the automation was paused for two days, the subscribers that were on the wait step of the automation will be sent the next campaign as soon as you re-enable it. Then they will continue the automation according to the regular schedule.

Example:

If the wait time between two campaigns was set to three days and the automation was paused for one day, the subscribers that were at the beginning of the wait step will wait another two days before they receive the next campaign. The subscribers that were at the end of the wait step when you paused the automation will be sent the next campaign as soon as you re-enable it. 

When campaigns are added to the automation, but a subscriber is already past that step in the automation, that campaign won’t be sent to them. Once a subscriber completes an automation, they will be removed from the automation and will not receive any further emails.

This applies to the automations that were initially activated and then paused. This doesn’t apply to drafts.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us