How to edit the double opt-in settings
EmailOctopus offers single opt-in on your lists by default. You can, however, enable double opt-in on a per-list basis.
Contacts who subscribe to a list with double opt-in enabled will receive an extra confirmation email in order to verify their email address.
How the double opt-in process works
The double opt-in process is made up of two simple steps. In step 1, a contact will fill out and submit your online sign-up form and will be added to 'Pending' contacts in your list. In the 2nd step, they'll receive a confirmation email where they need to click a link to verify their email, at which point their email will be added to your list in a 'Subscribed' status.
The Double opt-in emails are only sent to users added via the API and our forms and landing pages. Users added via the Dashboard (either manually or via import) will not receive an email. You must already have permission before adding contacts via the Dashboard.
Re-sending a double opt-in email
EmailOctopus does not allow you to email users who have not confirmed their subscription. If a user contacts you to question where their email is, you can manually change their status from Pending to Subscribed.