What is double opt-in?
EmailOctopus offers single opt-in on your lists by default. You can, however, enable double opt-in on a per-list basis. Contacts who subscribe to a list with double opt-in enabled will receive an extra confirmation email in order to verify their email address.
How the double opt-in process works
The double opt-in process is made up of two, simple, steps. In step 1, a contact will fill out and submits your online signup form. In the 2nd step, they'll receive a confirmation email and click a link to verify their email, at which point the email is added to your list in a 'subscribed' state.
The Double opt-in emails are only sent to users added via the API and our hosted/embedded forms. Users added via the Dashboard (either via the add contact button or via CSV) will not receive an email. You must already have permission before adding users via the Dashboard.
Re-sending a double opt-in email
EmailOctopus does not allow you to email users who have not confirmed their subscription. If a user contacts you to question where their email is, you can manually change their status from Pending to Subscribed.