How can I edit active automations
To edit an already-enabled automation, you will first need to pause it by clicking on the Pause button.
Once you pause an active automation, no emails will be sent to contacts going through the automation or queued to start it. New contacts added to the connected list will be added to the automation itself. And once you re-enable the automation, the contacts added while it was paused will start going through its steps.
Subscribers who have already started the automation will continue going through the waiting step they're on, but no emails will be sent to them until the automation is activated again.
If the wait time between two emails was set to one day and the automation was paused for two days, the subscribers that were on the wait step of the automation will be sent the next email as soon as you re-enable it. Then they will continue the automation according to the regular schedule.
If the wait time between two emails was set to three days and the automation was paused for one day, the subscribers that were at the beginning of the wait step will wait another two days before they receive the next email. The subscribers that were at the end of the wait step when you paused the automation will be sent the next email as soon as you re-enable it.
When emails are added to the automation, but a subscriber is already past that step in the automation, that email won’t be sent to them. Once a subscriber completes an automation, they will be removed from the automation and will not receive any further emails or go through any further steps.